About the MRVRD

976580_162621690578205_2084444614_oSince its inception in 1993 the Mad River Valley Recreation District (MRVRD) has been providing financial support to assist new and existing recreation programs within the membership towns of Fayston, Warren and Waitsfield. MRVRD distributes funds upon review and approval of a submitted proposal and budget.

The MRVRD Board encourages groups and individuals who are interested in creating recreational opportunities in the Mad River Valley to contact any member of the Board to discuss funding guidelines for their proposals or programs. The board meets monthly to discuss requests and encourages involvement and input from community members.  Our meetings are open to the public and held at the Wait House on Route 100 at 6:30pm on the 3rd Tuesday of each month (schedule is subject to change).

In the lastest funding cycle the MRVRD continued support of the Skatium, the Mad River Path Association, Couples Field, Girls on the Run, the Mad River Riders, as well as a number of smaller one-time recreationally oriented allocations. Most recently, the MRVRD purchased the Mad River Park, ensuring these fields will be available for recreation for years to come. Each town contributes $15,000 each year, for a total of $45,000 in potential grants. If you’d like to submit a grant application, please click here to download the grant form. You can upload the completed application and any supporting documentation on the Grant Application page.

The volunteer MRVRD board members have been appointed by the Select Boards of their respective towns and serve 2-3 year terms. Current board members are:

  • Rebecca Baruzzi, Fayston – Chairman
  • Doug Bergstein, Warren – Treasurer
  • Jeff Whittingham, Waitsfield – Secretary
  • Luke Foley, Warren
  • Michael Nucci, Waitsfield – Mad River Park Field Committee Chair
  • Whitney Phillips, Warren
  • John Stokes, Fayston